A Few Words on Pleasure

Lately, I’ve been thinking: I like to burp. Why? Because it lets me relive the taste of the food I just ate. I don’t know if this is a thing people on the autism spectrum do or if it’s a secret epidemic, but for much of my life, I’ve swallowed up air and burped it back out under my own command. I used to think that this habit was caused because of an allergy to onions. You see, when I eat those, my throat gets all blotchy. It expands, and I think there’s food trapped in there. I used to try to burp it out, but then I realized I was doing it a lot more than that.

Perhaps it is because of my nature as a being that prefers to do most of his fun things inside the house, where socialization is at a minimum, but I think this burping might be how I get my fix of dopamine. When I burp up coffee that was recently drank, I get to experience that nutty flavor with added reactions from the creamer all over again. This habit tends to annoy some people, and it also annoys me, because it means I fall back on such a pointless habit as a way to trigger those pleasure switches. I hate that. It’s a sign of failure from a being that’s always expecting the most unique and personally tailored experiences. So I try not to burp that often anymore, except when I have to. Because, you know, I’m really into Mountain Dew… and many of its fellow companions on the PepsiCo product line.

One thought on “A Few Words on Pleasure

  1. Pingback: Unreasonable Verve | Any Given Doomsday

Leave a Reply

