Pink Bori Plushie #1: Hello, again. Hello again.

[NOTE: Pink Bori Plushie will be Blatch’s column to talk about one of his all-time favorite hobbies within his nearly 19 years of existence: Neopets]

[hit the jump to see the beginnings of a dynasty…]

So I guess I should start this thing with a trip into my past… well, I don’t know when it happened, but let’s just assume it was somewhere around 2004 or so, when I was still in kindergarten and just barely getting into computer experiences. I think we had Lemmings on the computers over there. That eventually encompassed virtual pet websites. I remember being a little into Yu-Gi-Oh!, mostly because I like the pretty artwork on the cards, and I think that intersected with the Neopets TCG at some point. It was like Magic: The Gathering, even if I didn’t knew what that was at the time. But I, too, only collected the cards for this game. And why not: They had some sick virtual prizes to offer! If only I had kept them around… I might be a Neopian billionaire by now. =|

In the early days when I was on Neopets, I didn’t know what to do. I thought that logging out of your account meant that it was deleted forever. I went through several dozen of ’em through that way… LOL. It was also hard because I had no idea how to validate the email, which meant I could only have 1,000 NP on hand at all times. It sucked! I’d buy a scratchcard from the Terror Mountain place, win a big prize, and it’d all be taken away. That’s a bunch of bullshit right there.

I also never participated in any major site events… until 2007, when I tried out the Altador Cup for the first time. And yet it was until just after my current account was created, back in October of 2009, that I managed my first plot: Atlas of the Ancients… which sucked. But a year later, I finally got the recapture the thrill I never had of being a “golden age” user with… well, look at this image:

The Faerie’s Ruin was awesome. And I think that picture started up my sex drive before I even knew what one was. Xandra is still great, even if she’s been stoned. And TFR has basically been the last major world-changing plot on Neopets for six years running. I’m happy to sport the avatar it awarded on my main account for all eternity. This site has always been a favorite of mine. I guess you could say it’s like an alternate world where I can talk about shit I love without being confronted over it. I mean, I’ve gone over to the NeoBoards and chatted a few times, and I’ve gotten showered with free stuff! Seriously, they gave me a few Neocash wearables to customize a particular pet, and I got a free Nerkmid from one user whom I later became friends with. They’re so nice. Maybe if the rest of the world was as kind as these message boards were, America would be even worse than people think it is.

And now it’s time for me to reveal this main account ‘o mine: gordy_777. But that one has been permanently silenced because I tripped the profanity filter one too many times, which only happened because I was screwing around. So if you want to talk to me in Neopia, go to blatch0, or maybe gordy_2016, which is a side account that’s been dormant for a while.

Anyways, enjoy this column. I’ll be talking a lot about this storied website and the crazy experiences I’ve had throughout. There will also be some bitching, but we can’t control that. Now so long, and thanks for all the Neopoints. 🙂

Leave a Reply

