Your Own Globule of Hate

I feel like I have another rant about the anime community within me, but I just can’t shake it out. It’d be about Crunchyroll and how treating anime fans like test subjects is wrong.

They’re a business, and being a business requires you to promote what you’re selling, which, for them, includes The Ancient Magus Bride, the show they got several months in advance and which already has three episodes in the can, and they showed ’em at the convention last weekend. They seemingly promote this thing three times per week and I’m fucking sick of it already. Though I might go to the early screening of it at some type of movie theater, if I’m able to. But it’s not gonna be anywhere near as good as the movie with the anime body… swapping.

I often get tripped over Crunchyroll because they tell you how awesome these shows are and how you should watch them, but these shows aren’t always good. I feel like they’re participating in a mass psychological gaslight touch-and-feel-’em-up torture experiment where only whatever gets liked by their staff is qualified to be popular. It’s hard to explain, so I’ll just say this: They promoted that new Berserk anime at least once despite its animation being genuinely bad, reprehensible, and probably a disgrace to the source manga, so it should not be allowed to continue under any circumstances. And I’m sure CR would do the same for any awful “fanservice” show that only exists to see how far we can simulate sex on Japanese Earth television [pronounced “tele-vie-see-on”] without needing a censor bar. Check back to a few seasons ago for it.

But, instead of continuing the rant (huh… I guess I didn’t think this one through), I’ll just tell you to head on down to Crunchyroll’s news section [pronounced “sect-ee-on”] and see the largest gathering of kind-hearted anime fans in one place who love to talk about the medium. That in itself is kind of heartwarming. And who knows? You might even see something beyond comprehension that only I could have assisted with.

Leave a Reply

